Southwest Airlines announces PWM schedule

Article Post Date: October 22, 2012

Southwest Airlines announces PWM schedule

Portland, ME, October 22 - Southwest Airlines (NYSE: LUV) today released its planned flight schedule for service at the Portland International Jetport (PWM), which begins April 14, 2013.
The airline will initially offer non-stop flights each day to and from Baltimore-Washington International Airport (BWI) with departures from PWM on weekdays at 6:05 AM, 11:55 AM and 5:30 PM; on Saturdays at 6:05 AM and 2:00 PM; and on Sundays at 11:55 AM and 5:20 PM.
Non-stop departures on weekdays from BWI to PWM will be at 10:00 AM, 3:35 PM and 9:45 pm; on Saturdays at 11:55 AM and 8:40 PM; and on Sundays at 10:00 AM, 3:35 PM and 9:45 PM.
All flights will be on 143-seat Boeing 737s.
Travelers from Maine choosing Southwest will now have convenient connections from PWM to nearly 60 cities throughout the U.S. via Baltimore, a 30% increase over the number of destinations currently available to Portland passengers on AirTran.
Portland Mayor Michael Brennan said, “This is an exciting time for the city of Portland, the region and the state. We look forward to welcoming and supporting Southwest Airlines as the Jetport’s newest airline partner.”
Airport Director Paul Bradbury noted, “We have been overwhelmed by the enthusiastic response of the flying public throughout the region,” to Southwest’s announcement on October 18th that it would begin air service at PWM in the spring. “When Southwest’s iconic red and blue jets land in Portland in April, our passengers will have more convenient, affordable access to the nation’s largest domestic airline than ever before.”

AirTran Airways will continue to operate its daily nonstop service to Baltimore with convenient connections throughout the US and Caribbean until April 13, 2013. 

Cities with connecting service on Southwest Airlines to/from PWM beginning April 14, 2013 include:

  • Albany (ALB)
  • Albuquerque (ABQ)
  • Atlanta (ATL)
  • Austin (AUS)
  • Baltimore (BWI)
  • Birmingham (BHM)
  • Buffalo (BUF)
  • Charleston (CHS)
  • Charlotte (CLT)
  • Chicago Midway (MDW)
  • Cleveland (CLE)
  • Columbus (CMH)
  • Dallas Love (DAL)
  • Denver (DEN)
  • Detroit (DTW)
  • El Paso (ELP)
  • Flint (FNT)
  • Ft. Lauderdale (FLL)
  • Ft. Myers (RSW)
  • Greenville/Spartanburg (GSP)
  • Houston Hobby (HOU)
  • Indianapolis (IND)
  • Jackson (JAN)
  • Jacksonville (JAX)
  • Kansas City (MCI)
  • Las Vegas (LAS)
  • Little Rock (LIT)
  • Long Island (ISP)
  • Los Angeles (LAX)
  • Louisville (SDF)
  • Milwaukee (MKE)
  • Minneapolis/St. Paul (MSP)
  • Nashville (BNA)
  • New Orleans (MSY)
  • Norfolk (ORF)
  • Oakland (OAK)
  • Oklahoma City (OKC)
  • Omaha (OMA)
  • Orange County (SNA)
  • Orlando (MCO)
  • Panama City Beach (ECP)
  • Phoenix (PHX)
  • Pittsburgh (PIT)
  • Portland (PDX)
  • Raleigh/Durham (RDU)
  • Reno/Tahoe (RNO)
  • Rochester (ROC)
  • Sacramento (SMF)
  • St. Louis (STL)
  • Salt Lake City (SLC)
  • San Antonio (SAT)
  • San Diego (SAN)
  • San Jose (SJC)
  • Seattle/Tacoma (SEA)
  • Spokane (GEG)
  • Tampa Bay (TPA)
  • Tuscon (TUS)
  • West Palm Beach (PBI)